911:Order of the Garter

From Wiki
Jump to navigationJump to search

Site menu:


The Pilgrim Society and the Order of the Garter (or "Knights of the Garter")' are the controlling inner-parts of the Military Order of Malta ("Knights of Malta", or "SMOM" for short). The word "Garter" can be seen as another term for "secret", but is most probably used because of the Garter snake (Snake=Serpent=Satan).

  • Also see: Brotherhood of the snake

The order has over a 1000 royal members and a (claimed) maximum of 24 non-royal members, personally chosen by Queen Elizabeth II of the United Kingdom, who is also a member. It is awarded for 'outstanding public service and achievement'. [1]

Order of the Garter

3rd row: Lord Indg, The Duke of Abercorn, Lord Ashburton, The Register The Dean of Windsor, Sir Edmund Hillary, The prelate The Bishop of Winchester, Sir Timothy Coleman, The Secretary Hubert Chessyre, Sir William Gladstone and Sir Anthony Acland.

2nd row: Page of Honour The Honourable John Bowes-Lyon, Black Rod Sir Michael Willcocks, Sir Edward Heath, The Duke of Devonshire, Lord Sainsbury of Preston Candover, The Duke of Wellington, The Chancellor Lord Carrington, Lord Richardson of Duntisbourne, Lord Kingsdown, Lady Thatcher, Garter Peter Gwynn-Jones, Page of Honour Lord Carnegie.

Front row: from left to right : The Duke of Grafton, The King of Spain, The Queen of Denmark, The Duke of Gloucester, The Princess Royal, The Duke of Edinburgh, Queen Elizabeth II of the UK, The Prince of Wales, The Duke of Kent, Grand Duke Jean of Luxembourg, The Queen of the Netherlands, The King of Norway.


  • Order of the Garter - full list
    • Sovereign of the Order
      • The Queen
    • Ladies of the Order
      • The Princess Royal (1994)
      • Princess Alexandra (2003)
    • Royal Knights
      • Duke of Edinburgh (1947)
      • Prince of Wales (1958)
      • Duke of Kent (1985)
      • Duke of Gloucester (1997)
      • Duke of York (2006)
      • Earl of Wessex (2006)
      • Prince William of Wales (2008)
    • Extra Knight Companions and Ladies (foreign royal members)
      • Grand Duke Jean of Luxembourg (1972)
      • Queen Margrethe II of Denmark (1979)
      • King Carl XVI Gustaf of Sweden (1983)
      • King Juan Carlos I of Spain (1988)
      • Queen Beatrix of the Netherlands (1989)
      • Emperor Akihito of Japan (1998)
      • King Harald V of Norway (2001)
    • Knights and Lady Companions (maximum 24)
      • Duke of Grafton (1976)
      • Lord Richardson of Duntisbourne (1983)
      • Lord Carrington (1985)
      • Duke of Wellington (1990); Lord Bramall (1990)
      • Viscount Ridley (1992)
      • Lord Sainsbury of Preston Candover (1992)
      • Lord Ashburton (1994)
      • Lord Kingsdown (1994)
      • Sir Ninian Stephen (1994)
      • Baroness Thatcher (1995)
      • Sir Timothy Colman (1996)
      • Duke of Abercorn (1999)
      • Sir William Gladstone of Fasque and Balfour (1999)
      • Lord Inge (2001)
      • Sir Antony Acland (2001)
      • Duke of Westminster (2003)
      • Lord Butler of Brockwell (2003)
      • Lord Morris of Aberavon (2003)
      • Sir John Major (2005)
      • Lord Bingham of Cornhill (2005)
      • Lady Soames (2005)
      • Lord Luce (2008)
      • Sir Thomas Dunne (2008)
    • Officers of the Order
      • Prelate: Bishop of Winchester
      • Chancellor: Lord Carrington
      • Register: Dean of Windsor
      • Garter King of Arms: Peter Llewellyn Gwynn-Jones
      • Gentleman Usher of the Black Rod: Lieutenant-General Sir Michael Willcocks
      • Secretary: Patric Dickinson

See also